Zoomy A more useful and enjoyable screen for your MG4

Recalls and safety campaigns

Every recall and campaign owners have reported, and how to check whether yours is affected. Owner reports with a link to each source — not MG statements, and not advice.

← All MG4 learningsYour rights & escalating a dispute

Recalls and safety campaigns

Every recall and campaign owners have reported, and how to check whether yours is affected

A recall is not the same as a technical service bulletin. A recall is a safety notice with a formal process behind it and it is free to have done, whatever the age of the car. A bulletin is guidance to workshops and you may have to ask for it by name. Both appear below and each entry says which it is. To check your own car, use the official recalls register for your market with your VIN - a dealer search alone has missed open recalls for some owners.

Scope. Recalls are issued per market. An Australian recall and a UK one are different notices even for the same fault.

29 reports · 21 safety-related

Reports

Recalls & campaigns 22

918
No MG4 recall exists on the Australian register — MG3, ZS, HS and MG6 are on it, the MG4 is not

Australia's national vehicle recall register lists five SAIC Motor Australia recalls — MG3 (Nov 2025), MG HS PHEV and HS +EV (May 2023), MG3 (Jun 2021), ZS (Nov 2018) and MG6 (Aug 2018) — and no MG4 of any variant. Searching the register for the supplier rather than the model returns the same five, so this is not a model-name spelling problem. Don't read it as "nothing was ever fixed": a recall is a safety defect notified to the regulator, and the MG4 work owners talk about — the XPOWER vibration measures, the undertray bracket, the module updates — is service-campaign and technical-bulletin territory, which never appears on this register.

Aug 2026AUAustralian-delivered MG4, all variants; register state as at 12 August 2026

Detail

Safety / recall Widely reported Vehicle Recalls Australia — national vehicle recall register
919
Australia has two recall registers and owners check the wrong one — vehicles are not on the ACCC product site

The ACCC's consumer product recall search at productsafety.gov.au is a different database from the national vehicle register at vehiclerecalls.gov.au. Searching the ACCC site for MG4 returns nothing at all, and searching it for MG Motor returns five items that are a 2014 MG6, a 2017 MG6 Plus rear seat and three unrelated vehicle-accessory recalls. If you want to know whether your car has an outstanding recall, use vehiclerecalls.gov.au and search by supplier or model — a blank result on the ACCC site tells you nothing either way.

Aug 2026AUAustralian owners checking for outstanding recalls; both registers as at 12 August 2026

Detail

Safety / recall Widely reported ACCC Product Safety — consumer product recall search
921
The Australian recall register lists no MG4 recall at all as at September 2026

The Australian Government vehicle recall register was searched directly on 5 September 2026 by two independent methods: a free-text search for MG4, and the register's own manufacturer filter for the make MG. The make filter returns seven MG recalls covering the MG3 (2021, and 2024-2025), the MG HS PHEV and HS +EV (2021-2022), the ZS (2016-2018), the MG6, the MG TF and the MGF. The importer filter for SAIC Motor Australia returns five recalls, being the MG3 twice, the HS plug-in hybrid, the ZS and the SAIC MG6. The MG4 does not appear in any of them. A control search for MG3 returned the two known MG3 recalls, which confirms the search itself was working rather than silently failing.

Sep 2026AUSearched for the MG4 across all model years on the Australian register; no variant appeared, so all variants are listed

Detail

916
EU service campaign SC077 desensitises lane assist — EU only, not Australia

If your MG4 is a UK or European car, ask your dealer about the free service campaign SC077, which updates the steering and front radar modules and makes lane-keep assist markedly less aggressive.

Jan 2025UK/EUSC077AS-25-006EU MG4, all variants 2022-2025; NOT confirmed for Australia

Detail

Safety / recall Widely reported MGEVs.com owners forum
915
The one MG4 recall is UK-only: R/2022/355, superlock while running

Some UK-market 2022-build MG4s could superlock while still in running mode when coming to a stop, leaving the doors unopenable from inside or out, and were fixed free of charge under UK recall R/2022/355.

Jan 2023AU+UKUK-market MG4 2022 build (1,960 vehicles); not found as an Australian recall

Detail

Safety / recall Widely reported GOV.UK vehicle recall checker — MG MOTOR MG4 2022
920
The one MG4 safety recall on the UK register is a 2023 software fix for the car superlocking while still running

The UK vehicle recall register lists a single MG4 recall, reference R/2022/355, launched on 07-01-2023 and covering roughly 1,960 vehicles. The defect was that the car could superlock while still in running mode when it came to a stop. In that state the doors could not be opened from the inside or outside handles, the remote key was disabled, and the windows would not operate. The remedy was a software update.

Jan 2023UK/EUUK-registered 2022 model year MG4; the mapping onto Australian variant names is not established, so all variants are listed

Detail

Safety / recall Widely reported GOV.UK vehicle recall register (DVSA)
922
Recall and campaign work is free and gets written into the service book, which makes those pages the fastest check on a used MG4

The book contains dedicated 'Vehicle Safety Recalls' and 'Vehicle Service Actions' pages, and MG's own text says that if a recall campaign affects your car you will be contacted and invited to have it inspected free of charge, with the work recorded on that page. It also tells you what to do if you think you have been missed: contact an MG Authorised Repairer or a suitable service centre and ask. Two practical uses - recall rectification never costs you anything, and when you are looking at a used MG4 those two pages are the quickest way to see which campaigns and service actions the car has actually had done rather than which ones it was eligible for.

2023UK/EURecall handling and record-keeping as described in the UK/EU service book.

Detail

929
An Australian recall search only works from the search box on the page, so a typed-in web address can wrongly look like a clean result

The Australian recall register's search only responds to the field named on its own browse page. Constructing a web address with a search term in it, which is a common way to link straight to a result, is silently ignored: the page loads normally and shows the full unfiltered list of every recent recall for every manufacturer, with no error and no indication that the search term was dropped. Several older, plausible-looking addresses for the site also redirect to a page-not-found notice at the top of the site rather than to a search.

Sep 2026AUA property of the register website, not of any particular MG4 variant, so all variants are listed

Detail

924
There IS an Australian phantom-braking fix — bulletin AS-TEC-07022024-01, ask for it by number

MG Motor Australia issued technical bulletin AS-TEC-07022024-01, dated 7 February 2024, to address false AEB and forward-collision activations, so quote that number when booking the car in.

Feb 2024AUAS-TEC-07022024-01all Australian MG4 variants (FCW is part of MG Pilot on every AU trim)

Detail

Safety / recall Several reports Electrifying Everything (Neerav Bhatt) — MG4 AEB software update
927
A 2023-registered MG4 shows zero recalls on the DVSA checker — the superlock recall is filed under 2022

The GOV.UK check-vehicle-recalls service returns 'This vehicle has no recalls' for MG MOTOR MG4 model year 2023. The superlock recall sits under model year 2022 instead: R/2022/355, launched 07-01-2023, 1,960 vehicles, for MG4s superlocking while still in running mode — doors unopenable from inside or out, key disabled, windows dead — remedied by a software update. A clean result on a 2023 car therefore proves nothing; check the 2022 listing as well, and note that service campaigns are not what this service is for, so ask the dealer separately by SC number.

Jan 2023UK/EU2023 model-year MG4s checked on the UK DVSA recall service

Detail

Safety / recall Several reports GOV.UK check-vehicle-recalls (DVSA)
928
UK owners chasing an XPOWER vibration recall in early 2024 got 'no recall or comment from MG'

On this thread UK XPOWER owners discuss whether a recall is coming for the high-speed steering vibration. One rang his dealer's service department in March 2024 and reported back "No recall or comment from MG". Another points at the Australian steering-damper story, dated 17 November 2023, and adds "I'm pretty sure that's an old story from Australia and that the steering damper does not fix it anyway" — an opinion rather than the experience of someone who had one fitted. Some owners weighed up wheels or suspension changes instead, but held off over warranty. If you want the prevalence figures or the Australian damper campaign details, cite the poll thread and the Australian coverage directly — they are not in this discussion.

Nov 2023AU+UKMG4 XPOWER at sustained highway speed; Australia got the parts campaign, the UK did not

Detail

Safety / recall Several reports MGEVs.com — 'X Power recall looming??'
930
Australia issued an XPOWER sales stop for a steering-arm anti-vibration part, and some owners say it did not fix the shake

Australian XPOWER buyers reported a vibration between roughly 80 and 110 km/h (worst near 100), and shortly after delivery the AWD XPOWER was put on a sales stop and recalled for a steering-arm damper / anti-vibration upgrade. One Sydney owner had the new part fitted and said it made no difference, leaving the car back with the dealer. Owners suspect the XPOWER's vibration is a different phenomenon to the tyre flat-spot issue on the two-wheel-drive cars, possibly linked to the dual-motor drivetrain, though tyres and balancing were still in the mix.

Dec 2023AUAustralian XPOWER; sales stop and steering-arm anti-vibration part, effectiveness disputed

Detail

Safety / recall Several reports MGEVs.com owner forum
936
There is a lane keep assist service campaign, so ask the dealer if your car is covered if it is twitchy

Owners have been called in by their dealer for a service campaign that updates the lane keep assist, and in at least one case the same campaign was applied a second time with further refinement. Owners who had it done report fewer false lane-keep interventions and better lane centring afterwards. If your lane keep assist feels twitchy or intervenes when it should not, it is worth asking the dealer whether there is an outstanding lane keep or driver-assist campaign for your car rather than assuming the behaviour is final. Updates like this are applied at the dealer, not over the air.

2026GeneralSC077Dealer-applied lane keep / driver-assist campaign; market and coverage to be confirmed by VIN all variants

Detail

Safety / recall Single report XDA Forums
932
MG uses RCxxx for recalls and SCxxx for service campaigns — dealers call them all 'recalls'

A forum regular sets out MG's convention: "If it's a recall then it'll have an RCxxx number. If it's an SCxxx number then it's a service campaign item, but dealers are lazy and just call them all recalls." RC008 is the MG4's 'getting locked in' superlock fix, and a genuine recall brings a DVSA letter — one owner had his done a year earlier off the back of one. Because dealers use the words interchangeably, ask for outstanding work by bulletin number rather than asking whether there are 'any recalls'. This thread does not establish that RC008 is the only MG4 recall, and does not mention SC077, SC047 or SCUK001.

Jan 2024GeneralSC077SC047SCUK001All 2022-2025 MG4 variants; the naming is MG's own dealer convention, used in both AU and UK

Detail

Safety / recall Single report MGEVs.com — 'Software Recall' thread
935
You can report a vehicle safety concern to the Australian government directly, not only to the dealer

When an Australian owner could not get his concern taken seriously through the dealer, he lodged it with the federal infrastructure department's vehicle safety issue channel as well as with MG Australia through the app. That route exists independently of the manufacturer and does not require the dealer to agree there is a problem. If you believe you have a genuine safety issue and are being told it is normal operation, this is the escalation path, and reports feed the data that recall decisions are eventually made from.

Aug 2024AUAustralian reporting channel; applies to any vehicle, not only the MG4 all variants

Detail

Safety / recall Single report AEVA Forums (Australian Electric Vehicle Association)
931
MG Australia halted XPOWER deliveries in Nov 2023 to fit a new steering damper, free

MG Motor Australia paused MG4 XPOWER customer deliveries in November 2023, adding a revised steering damper to the pre-delivery inspection in both Australia and New Zealand after customer feedback about how the car felt at higher speeds. The upgrade was offered free of charge to existing and future MY23 and MY24 XPOWER customers; only about 15 cars had already been delivered and those owners were contacted. If you bought an early Australian XPOWER, check your service history actually shows the damper was fitted.

Nov 2023AUMY23 and MY24 MG4 XPOWER delivered in Australia and New Zealand

Detail

Safety / recall Single report CarsGuide
933
SCUK001 is a four-module software bundle — EVCC, FDR, BCM and FICM — done in one dealer visit

An owner's October 2023 dealer booking confirmation reads "carry out MG campaign SCUK001 Software updates to be completed (EVCC, FDR, BCM, FICM)" — the EV charge controller, front detection radar, body control module and forward camera module, all in one visit. The same owner hoped it would cure lane-keep and AEB behaviour, AC charger compatibility, head-unit black screens, Android Auto and Bluetooth dropouts, but that is what he was hoping for, not a documented scope, and the confirmation lists no symptoms. A moderator corrected owners calling it a recall: "That's a Service Campaign item (the bulletin will be SCxxxx) not a recall (which would be RCxxx, like the locking in one was RC008)." Ask your dealer whether SCUK001 specifically has been applied, by number.

Nov 2023UK/EUSCUK001UK MG4s delivered 2022-2023, applied at dealer service all variants

Detail

Safety / recall Single report MGEVs.com — 'BCM update (recall)'
923
A VIN-listed charging software campaign, SC47, was issued in March 2023 to improve MG4 charging performance

Service campaign SC47 (bulletin SI-SC2023031001, dated 10 March 2023) had dealers reprogram the charging control unit to a newer version in order to improve charging performance. Eligibility was by VIN list rather than by symptom, cars sitting in stock had to be updated before they were handed over, and the job was quoted at 0.4 hours with the diagnostic report attached to the claim as a condition of payment. Because it is a VIN-based campaign rather than a recall, nobody necessarily contacts you about it, and a car that changed hands or was imported can slip through. If you have an early MG4 and charging has never been quite right, it is reasonable to ask the dealer to check your VIN against SC47 specifically.

Mar 2023UK/EUEuropean VIN-list service campaign from March 2023; covers launch-period cars, Australian equivalence not stated.

Detail

917
Reduction gearbox oil leak — the headline MG4 mechanical fault

A pool or stain of oil on the driveway, escaping from around the reduction gearbox breather, is the MG4's headline mechanical fault and was never an isolated case.

Oct 2022 onwardsUK/EUmultiple trims incl. SR and Trophy (UK naming); early build cars worst affected all variants

Detail

Widely reported MGEVs.com owner forum
925
OPD was retrofitted to the Excite 51 by a dealer campaign — check yours has it

A service campaign dated 1 September 2023 added one-pedal driving to the Australian 51 kWh LFP Excite after launch, so a used 2023 example may not have it unless the campaign was carried out.

May 2024AUExcite 51 (LFP) only, Australian market

Detail

926
The gearbox leak fix was a raised breather — check it was done

On any used 2023 MG4, check both that the modified higher gearbox breather is fitted and that there is no fresh oil under the motor, since a few 2023-build cars still leaked after the change.

Aug 2023AU+UKAustralian-delivered MG4; fix also rolled out in UK/Europe all variants

Detail

Several reports Neerav Bhatt — Australian MG4 FAQ
934
The UK recall register lists no recalls at all for 2023 and 2024 model year MG4s

Checked in September 2026, the UK government recall register returns no recalls for the MG4 in either the 2023 or the 2024 model year, stating plainly that the vehicle has no recalls. The only MG4 entry on that register remains the 2022 model year superlocking recall. This is worth knowing because forum discussion of software updates can read like recall activity when it is not.

Checked September 2026UK/EUUK register only, checked September 2026; says nothing about Australian recall activity

Detail

Single report GOV.UK vehicle recall register (DVSA)

Service bulletins & tech notes 3

898
MG's own pre-delivery inspection makes clearing outstanding recalls and service actions the dealer's first job before you collect the car

The very first numbered item in MG's UK Pre-Delivery Inspection manual for the MG4 tells the technician to check the register of service actions, recalls and technical bulletins and to carry out anything outstanding before touching the rest of the car. The later revision of the manual widened the wording from just 'service action bulletins' to explicitly include recalls and technical bulletins, and the same line heads both PDI tick sheets and both maintenance check sheets. That matters because owners are routinely told a fix is not available for their car: if a campaign existed when your car was prepared, applying it was not optional, and the signed PDI sheet filed with your customer record is the dealer's certificate that it was done. Ask to see that sheet, and ask again at every service, because the maintenance sheets repeat the same requirement.

2023UK/EUUK PDI and service process; the obligation to clear outstanding campaigns before handover and at every service.

Detail

904
A February 2024 Australian bulletin updated the AEB software specifically to reduce phantom braking

MG Australia released a software update for all MG4 variants to improve autonomous emergency braking, under bulletin AS-TEC-07022024-01 dated 7 February 2024, described as the MG4 AEB Software Update. It targets the forward collision warning system and specifically the behaviour when cars are turning across traffic, which is one of the situations owners described as triggering unexpected braking. Every Australian MG4 has forward collision warning as part of MG Pilot, so it applies across the range.

Feb 2024AUAS-TEC-07022024-01All Australian MG4 variants, since forward collision warning is part of MG Pilot on every one

Detail

Safety / recall Several reports Electrifying Everything (Neerav Bhatt)
914
There is an Australian bulletin for an undertray fix, and it may be behind a vibration you can feel

MG Australia issued a technical bulletin covering an undertray fix, reference AS-TEC-02112023-01, and Australian buyers were advised to confirm it had been carried out before taking delivery. This is worth knowing beyond delivery day: owners chasing a rumble or vibration at highway speed have repeatedly suspected an undertray that is not properly secured, where it can flap and transmit into the body. If your car has an unexplained vibration, asking whether this bulletin has been applied is a cheap first question.

Sep 2024AUAS-TEC-02112023-01Australian bulletin; the build range it covers is not stated in the source, so all variants are listed

Detail

Safety / recall Single report Electrifying Everything (Neerav Bhatt)

Dealer servicing & updates 2

851
The Jan 2023 MG4 software recall wiped car settings and broke iSMART, weather and rescue call

Owners who had the January 2023 software recall applied found it cleared all the car's settings and left the head unit's connected features dead: weather saying it could not get the data or to activate the head unit, in-car iSMART login failing with 'Device ID does not exist', the emergency rescue-call button doing nothing from the touchscreen, and MG Touchpoint placing the car in Germany instead of Wales. A second owner reported the same login and weather faults three weeks later, and the same class of fault was still being reported after R59 updates in July 2024, by which point a forum member had posted head-unit reactivation steps. Check those features before you leave the dealer. Note the thread itself never names the recall by number.

Jan 2023UK/EUMG4s that had RC008 / R/2022/355 applied; the same symptoms recurred on later R59 updates all variants

Detail

Safety / recall Several reports MGEVs.com — 'MG4 Issues After Software Recall update'
852
MG4 module updates come from servers in China, and the slow OBD link is why they take hours

A forum moderator confirms the dealer's diagnostic laptop pulls module firmware from MG servers in China rather than the UK. What actually makes the job slow, per an experienced poster, is not the server but 'the slow connection between PC and Car over OBD Interface when updating all the modules' — the camera and small driver-display modules take longest because their files are the biggest. Reported times in this thread run from 45 minutes to nearly four hours, so budget most of a morning rather than a quick appointment, and note the MG4 was advertised as OTA-ready but never had it enabled.

date not establishedGeneralAll dealer module (SIPS/OBD) updates, as distinct from a USB infotainment flash

Detail

AC & home charging 1

120
CCU (charge control unit) failure kills AC charging while DC still works

If AC charging aborts early - stopping around 74-78%, or dying within about 15 minutes on a granny lead - while DC rapid charging still works at full rate, UK owners have had the charge control unit replaced under warranty.

Oct–Nov 2023UK/EUPhase 1 / early-build Long Range cars with the three-phase onboard charger; UK naming SE LR

Detail

Widely reported MGEVs.com owner forum

Screen, audio & radio 1

018
Screen cycling between displays at random — selecting DAB is the stopgap

If the centre screen randomly switches between displays or goes black and unresponsive, selecting a DAB radio station often settles it, and a factory reset from settings gives temporary relief.

Apr-Jun 2023UK/EU2023 MG4 (originally reported on Trophy, the UK equivalent of Essence 64)

Detail

Several reports MGEVs.com — MG4 infotainment Screen Fault